The ROCK in Rock N’ Roll Cowgirl finally makes it’s appearance..

 

Happy Music Monday Everyone!

Today, i’m gonna write about probably one of my favorite heavy metal bands.. Alice in Chains! Ever heard of these guy’s before? If not, I hope you become a fan of these guy’s after reading this blog post!

Funny this is.. My mother raised me on heavy metal, and all kind’s of different genres of rock music. People say it’s a bad thing.. But, I look at it as a good thing because everyone’s different in their own unique way. And, music has a funny way of describing us with in their own ways.

Enough, about why I chose to talk about this band. I mean, obviously their pretty rocking or I wouldn’t have chosen to future this band in my #MusicMonday post! But, y’all wanna hear some interesting facts about this band and how they got started right? Well, let me begin in my word’s how this band got started.. And, why I’m such a huge fan till this day!

Alice In Chains is an American Rock Band, yes they are all from America. Alice In Chains formed the band in 1987 in Seattle, Washington by lead guitarist and songwriter Jerry Cantrell and original lead vocalist Layne Staley. Then came a long drummer Sean Kinney, and bassist Mike Starr shortly after who is now replaced by Mike Inez.  Alice in Chains came out of the early ’90s grunge scene that included Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Soundgarden. The band became known for their distinct vocal style, as well as the harmonized vocals between Layne and Cantrell.

In 2002, Alice In Chains had a terrible loss in the band.. Layne Staley, passed away from a heroin overdose.  Layne, struggled throughout his career with severe drug addiction, culminating with his death in April 2002.  Layne, also played in a couple other bands Mad Season, Class of ’99, and Sleze. Everyone that is a fan/friend/family of Layne, knows how much he is missed each and every single day. It’s sad too see the good one’s go, but what I do know is that Layne is in a better place, and no longer suffering.. You will  be forever missed Layne by (ME) one of your Rock N Roll cowgirl fans.

Not only is it the harmonies that attract me to this band’s music, it’s the lyrics.. Their real, I have been through some of the battles these guy’s been through with life, and family. I LOVE listening to REAL music that has meaning. Alice In Chains is REAL they are a heavy metal band that I grew up listening too when I was young, and till this day I’m still listening to their music either on my I-Phone on the IHeartRadio radio station or on Spotify.

I wanna know.. What’s your favorite Alice In Chains song? Or, do you have a favorite heavy metal band that you like to listen too? Don’t be shy, I promise I won’t bite 😉

Leave a comment