RodeoChat Interview: 11 Questions with PRCA Bareback Rider Kyle Charley

Upcoming PRCA Bareback Rider, Kyle Charley takes some time out of his day to do an interview with me on RodeoChat. I had a blast talking to Charley about his summer Rodeo run, and what it’s like being a first generation Bareback Rider in his family! You can read my FULL interview with Kyle by scrolling below:

Question 1: Out of all the roughstock events out there. What made you stick with bareback riding?

Kyle Charley: I started with bulls, but then the excitement and challenges bareback has on your body is what I wanted.

Question 2: Interesting! When did you start riding bulls, and when did you decide to hang up bulls and head to bareback riding scene?

Kyle Charley: I started around 7 years old with calves then bulls when I turned 15. Once I knew I can do it in bareback and not much luck in the bull riding and all of my family saw that my strongpoint was bareback so I stuck with it. Not only that ive given it a try once and it all felt natural to me, from then on I went to bareback school with world champ, Deb Greenough.

Question 3: What was the hardest thing you had to learn about in bareback riding that took some time getting used too?

Kyle Charley: The jerking and pain that comes along with it especially when I climb down on 3 or more horses.

Question 4: In your opinion, do you think it’s better to get on a lot of practice horses during the week vs. One practice horse a week?

Kyle Charley: I like to stick to the safe side riding spur board but again I’ll get on at least 1-3 horses a week which helps a lot. Because you still have to be healthy for the next up coming rodeos without being banged up.

Question 5: What can you do to help keep the bareback riding industry alive and maybe help it grow further into mainstream?

Kyle Charley: Showing the fun side of bareback riding, and giving the opportunity to help others who find interest in it. When I have the time to teach and help the young up comers. Rodeos a family sport and that’s bareback too, everyone becomes family helping out.

Question 6:  Exactly! How many years have had your PRCA card, and what was the very first PRCA event you have ever entered?

Kyle Charley: I’m a new upcomer, and its my 2nd year with PRCA, only my 5th year with this career to. My first PRCA event was Lubbock TX 2014.

Question 7: Exciting!!! How many PRCA events have you won, and where were these events at?

Kyle Charley: Last year was tough only placing in 3 shows. After an injury this year I came back winning Buckeye Az pro rodeo and placing in 3 more other events. But this year will be good to me.

Question 8: I can only imagine. Let’s talk about how a rookie like yourself makes it on the PRCA trail for your first year. How hard was it to stay out on the trail, and hit up rodeo, after rodeo trying to chase that dream of making the NFR?

Kyle Charley: Dedication and motivation as well as the first in my family to go that far and keep striving. It is pretty hard with the little support I have and I thank my mom who supports me through it all. But I don’t let that stop me. It’s tough but theirs sacrifices we have to make to fulfill our dreams. A lot of the time I’m traveling alone and tight on funds.

Question 9: What kind of advice can you give to the rodeo cowboys/cowgirls that may be the first in their family to start rodeoing?

Kyle Charley: Keep your heads up no matter how rugged the road or situations you get in, god always has a plan for the best outcome in y’all. Practice your mindset, practice, your physical fitness, and always have FUN. No matter what event you do.

Question 10: Have you started your summer run yet? If so, where do you plan on riding at this summer?

Kyle Charley: I got them lined out yes, all will be in my circuit area to win the circuit year but for the next month I will be in Oklahoma. This coming weekend following along with Texas rodeos. I ride on the Turquoise.

Question 11: Is there any sponsors you would like to thank or anything else you would like to add?

Kyle Charley: My late friend Tom Kurowski Double K Diamond Photo and his wife Catherine K. Who I dedicate this year to for their help. Shout out to my mother as well and all the family and friends who show their support in believing me I can go on. Also – thank you for this interview hope it was enough, and I wish everyone safety and protection with god and follow your dreams.

Fan Questions –

Cowboy Coffee: Mr. Charley, Appreciate your time! What is the one thing you appreciate most about being a Cowboy?

Kyle Charley: I love the fact is it’s a fun game and freedom and working hard at everyday in the country. It’s a part of life that I grew up in being around cattle rodeos horses and the open ranges.

Cowboy Coffee: Mr. Charley, If you were to describe yourself in one word what would that one word be?

Kyle Charley: Underdog.

Cowboy Coffee: Mr. Charley, what is your biggest Dream & where do you see yourself in 20 years?

Kyle Charley: To make the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo as a native american in the bareback. 20 year from now, helping others achieve their goals, being a sportsmed doc. And owning a ranch of bucking horses.

Haden Roberts: While on the road what kind of budget are you on?

Kyle Charley: A very tight budget I have, all goes to gas, fees, and what’s left to eat on haha. Because it’s just me.

Haden Roberts: What’s some of your work out routines to stay in shape?

Kyle Charley: Lots of cardio and crossfit training, 2xs a week strength training, lots of stretching, most of all  I try to get 800+ situps in.

Cowboy Coffee: Mr. Charley, What do you do for fun/hobbies outside of the rodeo cowboy scene?

Kyle Charley: I love the outdoors, riding horses or breaking colts. Fishing, hiking, leathercrafting belts I enjoy now as well.

Paige Gregory

http://www.Twitter.com/RodeoChat

http://www.Facebook.com/RodeoChat

http://www.Instagram.com/RodeoChatt

Leave a Reply

