RodeoChat Interview: 15 Questions with Canadian Bareback Rider Mike Solberg

When I found out Kimes Ranch Jeans was doing an International Sponsorship contest I knew right away that I needed to set up an interview with one of the contestants. The first contestant that I saw on the list was a bareback rider from Canada. Since I have a huge following in Canada, and a big fan of bucking horses I thought why not set up an interview with Mike Solberg! Here it is folks.. My interview with Canadian Bareback Rider, Mike Solberg! I hope you all enjoy:

Question 1: How did the Rodeo industry get into your blood?

Mike Solberg: My pa used to ride bareback horses & bulls, he took me everywhere when we were kids and I wanted to be like him.

Question 2: That’s amazing! So, did you give bull riding a shot before you took on bareback riding full-time?

Mike Solberg: Yea I rode bulls in high school and amateur I used to love it, until I got stepped on and broke my cheek that kind of put a kibosh on that, I used to love it more than riding bareback horses.

Question 3: Wow! That’s interesting.. So what did you get on first bulls or horses? In high school did you compete in both Bareback Riding An Bull Riding?

Mike Solberg: I actually got on both the same night lol, I competed in all three rough stock in high school.

Question 4:  You’re a rare breed! Not very many folks do all 3 roughstock events anymore.. What made you decide to do all 3 in Highschool?

Mike Solberg: I’m not too sure actually, I loved getting on bulls, I’d get on 4 or 5 in practice and one buckin horse, then one day i said to heck with it I wanna try broncs too cuz a buddy of mine did, so I more or less did it for fun.

Question 5: True! You never know unless you try. At what age did you hit the professional level?

Mike Solberg: That’s so true! I rode novice bareback until I was 20 then I think it was 2005 I bought my card and decided to try out the big the big leagues, I had my permit earlier and was entering everything I could when I turned 18. 

Question 6: Hitting the big shows means being farther from home.. At what point in time did you decide your ready to travel?

Mike Solberg: Ha ha I was already kind of gone after high school I went to Texas for a year for college and transferred to North Dakota, so I went pretty much everywhere I could without missing too much school LOL.

Question 7: Wow! So, at that time how were on the road pretty much all the time.. How did you make it? Did you win every event?

Mike Solberg: Ha Ha I wouldn’t say that, but I definitely paid for a lot of my college ventures, I remember I made a bunch out of rapid city and a bunch out of Strathmore when i was 18 or 19 so I pretty much was living the high life in college lol.

Question 8: If you could give any bareback rider advice that’s wanting to hit the road hard & travel farther away. What would you tell them?

Mike Solberg: Oh man that’s a toughy, I’d say hit the gym as much as possible, you don’t want to be sore after one horse, and always no matter what stay positive, there’s going to be tough times but if you work hard you will achieve your goal.

Question 9: Those are some great words of advice! But, you have competed at some of the BIGGEST rodeos in Canada! Talk about the Calgary Stampede and the Canadian Finals Rodeo.

Mike Solberg: When you get to the CFR It’s like a breath of fresh air, it’s like this is what you have been working towards the whole year and now its’ time to ride tough, you’re fresh and feeling good and you feel like you could spur anything down, it’s like all of your friends and neighbors are watching you and all you want to do is show them how good you are. Calgary on the other hand is just crazy! You’re riding with the top guys in the world, and all the people there is nuts, all you want to do is show those guys you deserve to be there.

Question 10: But, to get to the Calgary Stampede and the Canadian Finals Rodeo it  took A LOT of work! What kind of workouts/hard work/ motivation did it take?

Mike Solberg: When you’re home all winter feeding cows you get out of shape, so I started going to my neighbors gym and started doing core workouts to lose weight and get fast, I was always getting hurt so I needed to get stronger & more flexible. 

Question 11: What’s the best bucking horse you’ve been on?

Mike Solberg: Grated Coconut of Calgary Stampede is definitely the first one that comes to mind. Haha

Question 12: Do you like getting on John Duffy stock? What’s your favorite horse of Duffy’s?

Mike Solberg: Oh 4 sure, I’d have to say tweety bird and blue jeans, I won Williams lake on those horses 2 years in a row.

Question 13: How do you spur your buckin horses that you ride? Ex. Style of spurring.

Mike Solberg:  I just focus on setting my feet hard, when the horse sends your feet I try to keep my spurs touching all the way up (drag)… Then when that little dinger goes off in your head I send my feet 2 the front as fast as i can, pa used to tell me that.

Question 14: What are your goals for 2015, and what’s your next event you’ll be competing at?

Mike Solberg: My goals this year are trying to make the finals in as little rodeos as possible, I own a ranch with my wife so that keeps us busy, but I’ve been working out harder than ever so I wanna come in no. 1 and win the finals this year.

Question 15: You are entered in the Kimes Ranch Jeans International contest. How would you market them/rep their clothes if you won?

Mike Solberg: I’d not only wear their clothing everywhere, and promote at rodeos but I’d promote them at home for ranchwear they look like a well-built jean, and that’s what guys/gals want, I’d promote through twitter, my wife would wear their stuff and show that there is another jean out there for cowboys.

Question 16: Where do you see the bareback riding industry in the next 5 years?

Mike Solberg: I’ve went to Jake Vold’s rodeo school this winter and the future is looking bright up here, with social media and promoters like yourself that bring the competitors closer to the fans I could see it getting huge! 

Paige Gregory

Owner/Founder, RodeoChat

Cookeville, TN

http://www.Twitter.com/rodeochat

http://www.Facebook.com/rodeochat

http://www.Instagram.com/rodeochatt

Leave a Reply

