RodeoChat Interview: PBR Bull Rider – Mike Collins

10537396_682141221879137_2891310081060277405_n

              Photo Credit: Donna Roice

12 Questions with PBR Bull Rider – Mike Collins

Q1: What made you decide you wanted to be a bull rider? And, at what age did you get on your first bull?

Mike Collins: Had some friends that rode wanted to try it because it looked fun. I was 15 years old.

Q2: Attend any bull riding schools? If so, which ones did you attend? Also, are you the first one in your family to ride bulls?

Mike Collins: I never attended any schools. I just spent a lot of time in the practice pen.

Q3: Seems like every bull rider has their own style. What’s your style? As in, how you ride an talk etc.

Mike Collins:  I just ride Coolio style. Forget the form and make the horn. Whatever it takes to get the job done.

Q4: The competitions getting tougher, and the guy’s that are rising to the top are a lot younger. You being an older bull rider.. How do you keep up with the young guns on the PBR tour?

Mike Collins: Age is just a number. I don’t feel a day over 25. I say your only as old as you feel. But I do hit the gym 🙂 Being a professional athlete requires hard work and dedication at any age. 

Q5: Right! So what kind of workouts do you do at the gym to stay in tip top shape for your bull riding career?

Mike Collins: I focus a lot on my core for balance. But a good mix of weight training and cardio to stay lean. 

1797492_614659958627264_8634706457753073633_n

          Photo Credit: PBR

Q6: This is kind of a fun question.. Do you ever have side bets in your bull riding career, like if i win you have to do something crazy or if I loose I have to do something crazy.. LOL

Mike Collins: Every now and then we do something fun. I have always been in for a good bet. 

Q7: Care to share a story about a bet you made once with another bull rider?

Mike Collins: Made a bet with a stock contractor I could ride his bull in the practice pen in my PJ pants and tennis shoes. Just for a cold beer. I ended up knocked out with ripped PJ pants, but I got my cold beer for effort.

Q8: We get tons of questions daily on how to find a TOP SHOT agent for a bull rider. What are some things a bull rider should look for in a TOP SHOT agent?

Mike Collins: Finding one comes with winning. You need someone who wants you to succeed as much as you want to.

Q9: Just curious.. Who do you travel down the road with to PBR TPD events?

Mike Collins: I have traveled with a lot of different guys over the years one being my best bud Cody Whitney, but this year I have been on the road to PBR TPD with a young rookie Zane Cooke.

Q10: Not to mention, you’re getting ready to head too China and ride in their PBR series! How stoked are you??

Mike Collins: I am really excited. I never would of thought when I started I would have an opportunity to ride in China. I am excited to experience the Chinese culture and share with them our sport.

Q11: What are you goals for the rest of 2014, and are you setting any new goals for 2015?

Mike Collins: This year my goal is to reestablish life as a full time bull rider. I recently quit my other job. Took a leap of Faith after being out for a few years. In 2015 my goal is make the PBR world finals.

Q12: Last Question – Have any one you wanna give a S/O to or sponsors to thank?

Mike Collins: I would like to give a shout out to my wife Meghan Collins and my 3 kids. They are my biggest fans. My savior Jesus Christ for blessing me with this life and my talents. Also, my agent Chris Gunn for giving me opportunities I never dreamed of when I got on that first bull in the practice pen.

– Paige Gregory – 

RodeoChat Owner And Founder

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/rodeochat

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/rodeochat

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/rodeochatt

Blogging: https://cowgirldreamerpmg.wordpress.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

