RodeoChat Interview: PRCA Bareback Rider – Wyatt Gewinner

M01antoi

Photo Credit: Incandescent photographs by Emily Dunn

 

16 Questions with PRCA Bareback Rider – Wyatt Gewinner

Question 1: First off, what’s a day in the life of Wyatt look like?

Wyatt Gewinner: Everythings getting ready to change now that our first day of college is starting tomorrow.

Question 2: Nice! What year are you in college?

Wyatt Gewinner: This is my first year in college, I’m attending Fort Scott Community College in Kansas.

Question 3: Let’s talk some bareback riding now.. How did you get into bareback riding and are you a first generation in your family?

Wyatt Gewinner: I am first in my family to rodeo, and a couple of my friends rodeo’d and they got me into it. I’m very glad they did.

Question 4: Who are some of your friends that got you into it? Also, how did they get you started in bareback riding?

Wyatt Gewinner: Reed Kraeger and Hoyt Kraeger They went to high school with me and started hauling me around and helping me out a lot!

Question 5: That’s what great friends are for! So at what age did you get on your first bucking horse, and what was it like?

Wyatt Gewinner: I got on my first one my freshman year of high school. It was a rush, one of those feeling you have to keep going after.

Question 6: So after getting on your first bucking horse.. You stuck to it. Did you attend bareback riding schools after that?

Wyatt Gewinner: I have not, I did go to the University of Nebraska in Lincoln to get on practice horses.

Question 7: Wicked! So when you go to practice pens.. How many bareback horses do you usually ride at the practice pen?

Wyatt Gewinner: oh it just matters on the day, if I would get one rode good I would just hang it up after that one.

Question 8: What happens if you didn’t have a good day at the practice pen? How would you handle it?

Wyatt Gewinner: It would be the same as if I didn’t do good at a rodeo, forget about it and move on to the next one.

Question 9: What rodeos have you been to so far in your bareback riding career that have been success for you?

Wyatt Gewinner: I really can’t single out a rodeo, I rodeo’d all over this year and its just to hard to pick one.

Question 10: Gotcha! What rodeos did you attend this summer that you haven’t had a chance to ride at before?

Wyatt Gewinner: I was looking forward to try to get in Cheyenne this year but I broke my sternum right before so I knew I couldn’t go.

Question 11: Ouch! How’d you do through the healing process, and how long were you out for?

Wyatt Gewinner: I’ll be getting on my first one back at the pro rodeo in Topeka, Kansas this Friday. I was out for about a month and a half.

Question 12: Not to bad, but I bet it was still hard. So how are you preparing yourself for the Topeka, Kansas event?

Wyatt Gewinner: I just started getting back in the gym last week to see how it felt and I felt like I could ride with it so I entered.

Question 13: Great news! So what do you have planned for the winter run? Are you gonna hit up any big rodeos?

Wyatt Gewinner: I haven’t decided where all yet, I know I will be going to Denver and Fort Worth. I’m going to some big shows this winter.

Question 14: Okay.. We gotta know.. What are you TOP 5 favorite bucking horses that you’ve got on in 2014?

Wyatt Gewinner: I haven’t had the best luck with drawing this year. I would have to say Blueberry Buckle was the best though.

Question 15: What was so special about Blueberry Buckle?

Wyatt Gewinner: That horse would just set up right in front of the bucking chutes and not cover any ground. Very rider friendly.

Question 16: What’s one quote that you live by that helps you get through the tough times?

 Wyatt Gewinner: Every true strength is gained through struggle.

If you would like to keep up with Wyatt down the rodeo trail. Feel free to follow him on Twitter: https://twitter.com/WGewinner

 

– Paige Gregory – 

RodeoChat 

http://www.twitter.com/rodeochat

http://www.facebook.com/rodeochat

http://www.instagram.com/rodeochatt

 

 

Leave a Reply

