19 Questions with Professional Bareback Rider – Colton Kephart

10172681_266370416869101_7503509957244383830_n

RodeoChat Interview: Professional Bareback Rider – Colton Kephart

RodeoChat: First off, What’s a day in the life of Colton look like on a Monday?

Colton Kephart: Well today is recovery day for me. I got a little banged up on Saturday in Milan, MO. I got hung up a little and I got kicked in the hip coming down. Nothing serious just sore.

RodeoChat: Lets talk some buckin horses & Bareback riding! How did you get involved with bareback riding?

Colton Kephart: I got involved two years ago. I was friends with a saddle bronc rider and he taught me the basics and I went from there.

RodeoChat: When you say basics of bronc riding.. What do you mean exactly? Ex. Watching videos, getting on practice horses etc.

Colton Kephart: Just how to ride what to do with your feet your body. There is so much detail that goes into it. Everything from your mark out to moving your feet is important.

RodeoChat: Did anyone else in your family rodeo? Or are you a first generation?

Colton Kephart: No I am a first generation but hopefully not the last. I’m trying to get my little brother into it.

RodeoChat: Wow! Such a risk. So is your little brother interested a willin to try it out?

Colton Kephart: Yea, he’s been wanting to get on so I think this is the summer he’ll do it.

RodeoChat: Who do you travel with down the rodeo trail or do you fly solo?

Colton Kephart: Most of the time its my good buddy Matt Marriott, and Matt Boos.

RodeoChat: So we have to know.. Do you have any funny rodeo stories about you & Matt Marriott down the rodeo trail?

Colton Kephart: Yeah, some I probably shouldn’t mention but Matt Marriott just got his eye brow shaved for something he did to me.

RodeoChat: What’s one event that stood out from the rest that you either entered up in or went to watch & why?

Colton Kephart: I would have to say cowboy Christmas. It’s my favorite time of year and I just can’t get enough of it.

RodeoChat: We all want to know what your summer schedule looks like.. Where will you be riding at this summer?

Colton Kephart: We have a really packed summer. I don’t know them all off-hand but you can follow me on Facebook for my schedule:

RodeoChat: Favorite bareback horse you’ve been on & name a highlight of your rodeo career..

Colton Kephart: My favorite horse would have to be 901 from grand river. It’s a good horse to get on and win money. My highlight would have to be my first buckle my rookie year. I didn’t know I won it tell a year later and I was so happy.

Fan question from Belinda Melton: What was your worst wreck?

Colton Kephart: Well saturday was pretty bad but my worst was when I got hung up pretty bad at a school this past summer. I didn’t think my hand was ever gonna come out it was scary but not enough to stop me.

Fan question from Belinda Melton: How do you all keep your girls from feeling lonely & sad when you leave for a rodeo or do you get to take them?

Colton Kephart: My girlfriend goes to some rodeos but I’m usually only gone for a weekend or so.

Fan question from Heather Cannon: What’s the one thing that goes through your mind before the chute opens?

Colton Kephart: The only thing that goes through my mind is I gotta do my job the horse does his and together we get a score.

Fan question from Belinda Melton: I notice y’all seem to almost lay down on the horse, what does that do for the ride?

Colton Kephart: That helps you bring your feet to your rigging and that scores you points.

Fan question from Bill Cobler: What’s your plans for the future? Are you going to try to qualify for The American?

Colton Kephart: That all depends on how I’m doing this year. But yes I would like to qualify for it

Fan question Heather Cannon: What’s the number one tip you would give your brother for his first ride?

Colton Kephart: I would just tell him to bare down and enjoy the ride. Your first ride is going to be so fast you don’t know what is going to happen.

Fan question from Jordan J Showalter: What motivates Colton to put his body at risk every time he mounts a horse & enters the ring?

Colton Kephart: From the time you get on in the chute tell you get off there is so many possibilities of getting hurt but that’s  just a risk im willing to take.

Fan question from Jordan J Showalter: Also, who was Colton’s his high school hero and number one influence growing up?

Colton Kephart: Lol. Yes, my Buddy Jordan was an incredible influence on me. Not in the sport of rodeo but just in general.

Fan question from Katie Lane:  If I wanted to get into bareback or saddle Bronc how would I get started & would you train me?

Colton Kephart: First I would try it, and find someone who does it and go to a couple shows. Get on one and see how you like it. If you like it I would look into some schools. That would help out more than anything.

Paige Gregory

RodeoChat Host And Founder

http://www.twitter.com/rodeochat

2 thoughts on “19 Questions with Professional Bareback Rider – Colton Kephart

Leave a Reply

