RodeoChat Interview: Bareback Rider – Matthew Mark Marriott

photo (6)photo (7)

23 Questions with Bareback Rider Matthew Mark Marriott

RodeoChat Vocab Lesson of the day:

IRA = Interstate Rodeo Assoc

URA = United Rodeo Assoc.

RodeoChat: You have a choice to ride bulls, be a roper, ride saddle bronc. But, what in the world made you choose bareback?

Matthew Mark Marriott: There’s a lot of reasons why I chose bareback riding. Mostly because I love horses and had an opportunity when I first started to try bareback and turns out I wasn’t half bad so I stuck with it.

RodeoChat: At what age did you actually get on your first buckin horse?

Matthew Mark Marriott: I got on my first bucking horse at age 21 I’m now 23. 2nd horse I got on I won the rodeo and was hooked from there.

RodeoChat: People always ask us all the time if it’s to late to start riding bulls or buckin horses in their 20’s.. What’s your opinion?

Matthew Mark Marriott: As long as you are physically able to do it chase your dream. One of my best friends rides bulls and he is 30.

RodeoChat: Well.. We wanna know what a day in the life of Matt looks like?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Wake up around 7. Eat a big breakfast. Work 8-5 then hit the gym and spur board. That’s an average weekday.

RodeoChat: Where do you work during the weekdays from 8 – 5?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Well I work as a plumber from 8-5. I enjoy it but it’s not nearly as good as rodeo.

RodeoChat: Has your 2014 run started already? If so, where was your first event back at in 2014?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Yes it has. I was at the new years stampede in Kansas city and one rodeo last sep. Counted toward 14 standings.

RodeoChat: What’s your goals for your bareback riding career in 2014?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Number 1. No less. Set your goals high.

RodeoChat: We love hearing about crazy rodeo stories! On that note, do you have any crazy rodeo stories that you can share with us?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Oh man there a lot. Probably when we tried to hit two rodeos in the same day a 200 miles apart Needless to say we got a speeding ticket. It was a lot like the Chris Ledoux song. 

RodeoChat: Oh my! What rodeos did you enter up on that crazy day?

Matthew Mark Marriott: I think it was Exira IA and Whiting IA but I’m not 100%. I know it was on cowboy Christmas.

RodeoChat: Let’s talk about buckin horses.. What are some buckers that you’d like a chance at in 2014?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Oh man there’s a lot. Outlaw rodeos #6 is one I want again. C.R. McKelleps horse masher I want to try Anything of Rodeo Rose. And Grand River always has good stock. Honestly I look forward to all of them.

RodeoChat: How does a new guy like you on the rodeo trail build up your fan base & attract sponsors?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Fans like guys that ride well and sponsors want winners. Though I currently have no sponsors I’m open to them. 

RodeoChat: If you could change one thing about the Bareback riding industry.. What would it be & why?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Not much really The PRS has started shedding some light on how great of a sport it really is and its drawing fans.

RodeoChat: Have you ever thought about riding in the PRS series?

Matthew Mark Marriott: I have but like anything else I want to make sure I’m ready before I make that move. We’ll see how this year goes.

RodeoChat: what’s the best way to follow you down the rodeo trail via social media?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Either Twitter or Facebook. I would be happy to accept any friend request.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/matthew.m.marriott?fref=ts

Twitter: ww.twitter.com/mattmarriott90

RodeoChat: What’s something totally random about you that nobody else knows?

Matthew Mark Marriott: I really enjoy golf. I have no time to play but that’s my second favorite sport. Rodeo #1 of course!

Fan question from Tanner Wilmeth (@TannerWilmeth) on twitter: How many head did you get on before you stopped thinking of what the worst could happen in a bronc ride?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Lol! Well I personally try to stay positive. It’s hard to block it out. Be cautious but confident.

Fan question from Tanner Wilmeth (@TannerWilmeth) on twitter: I try to be but like before ever rodeo I try to stay positive but I let my fear get over my heart? Like it’s hard to explain.

Matthew Mark Marriott: Man I know just what you mean. It’s hard but try to get in your zone. Once you get that “click” all you’ll know of is how great of a ride you will have and not what can go wrong. Just keep at it.

Fan question from Joseph Jackson (@josephus313) on twitter: How many horses you ride a week practicing?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Where I’m at there aren’t many good practice pens. I do a lot of work on broke horses and the spur board.

Fan Question from Liziel (@LizielC) on twitter: What do you do to prepare for an event? Do you have a special routine?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Absolutely! I do everything in certain order. I get in my groove and feel much more convenient that way.

Fan Question from Jeanine Leiting (@JeanineLeiting) on twitter: What events are you planning to enter this year?

Matthew Mark Marriott: All depends. Hitting the IRA and URA rodeos hard. Those are my focus.

Fan question from Joseph Jackson (@josephus313) on twitter: Do you team up with other riders going to rodeos?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Oh yea. Typically 2-4 of us travel together. Makes the long drive more interesting.

Fan question from Pamela Vosler (@pamzart) on twitter: Any bucking horses you hope you never draw?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Ha ha. Theres a few “dirty” horses in every pen but ride em like you own em and you’ll be fine.

Fan question from Pamela Vosler (@pamzart) on twitter: How do you decide if you’re going to wear the green shirt or the red shirt?

Matthew Mark Marriott: Those are the two shirts I don’t like and don’t care if they have to be cut off. First one I grab I wear.

photo

Paige Gregory

RodeoChat Host And Founder

http://www.twitter.com/rodeochat

Leave a Reply

