#1 Ranked bareback rider in Professional Roughstock Series – Josi Young

PicMonkey Collage

 

11 Questions With Professional Rodeo Cowboy Josi Young

RodeoChat: How did bareback riding spark your interest?

Josi Young: Well my dad was a 11 time qualifier to the NFR in the bareback riding so naturally that was all I seen as a child growing up.

Fan Question from Branded Cowgirl on Instagram: If Josi could have ANY Cowboy past or present helping you prep in the chute, who would you pick & why?

Josi Young: Well my dad has always been my role model and has been my coach since day 1. So I am lucky to have him help me on occasions. But if I had to choose another I would say Ty Murray. There is a reason why he has won so many world titles. positive mind-set and hard work ethics!!!!

Fan Question from Carson Farmer on Twitter: Josi, what is your opinion on college rodeo? I have heard lots of different things and would like to hear what you think.

Josi Young: College rodeo can be great if you have good coaches that can lead you in the right direction and help you.

Fan Question from Laurynn : Josi, I’m 18 and from Ireland, would it be silly for me to start rodeoing and how would I go about starting ?

Josi Young: Hi Laurynn! If rodeo is something that is a passion for you then you should go for it!! Look for rodeo schools online and look at the coaches credentials and pick great coaches.

Fan Question from Matt Cohen:  I’d like to know if Josi is considering a career as a model after he’s done rodeoing.

Josi Young: Oh Matt, You know I will!! Lol. Great pic by the way!!

BUUxa8yCcAAwKR-

RodeoChat: 2010, was a tough year for you.. You broke both of your legs at Jaycees rodeo. How did you stay sane through the long recovery?

Josi Young: Well it wasn’t easy! My family was awesome to me and very patient. I need there support or I might not have made it. especially after breaking my pelvis in 09 it was very hard! But it all comes back to positive mind-set and looking forward.

Fan Question MRI Hali Stutzman: What’s this thing about a stuffed monkey you were carrying around in a Café in Idaho?

Josi Young: Oh Hali I owe you one!! I took my family to breakfast and when I went to pay I forgot I had my boys monkey. Lol everyone was looking at me all weird till I realized I was a grown man carrying a monkey with no kid around. Ha

RodeoChat: Were getting a lot of questions on FB/Twitter on how you got into the PRS. Care to give us details on how this all started?

Josi Young: I heard about it when I was at the chase hawks invitational in 2011. I loved the concept and hit the tour in 2012 & this year. I knew that the PRS would explode as long as they had the support of us cowboys. And look now, we can ride for lots of money!

RodeoChat: Going down the rodeo trail is not cheap.. How did you go out and get your sponsors, and how many sponsors is enough?

Josi Young: well a lot of my sponsors come from me going directly to them and telling them what I can offer them. It has to work for them as well as for you. I don’t endorse for anything that I don’t believe in. You want to have enough to support you but not to many that you can’t focus on helping them as well.

RodeoChat: So @ProRoughStock & us (RodeoChat) had to bring you out of Twitter retirement.. How does it feel being back in the twitter world? Lol.

Josi Young: Lol. It feels great!! I didn’t know what I was missing!!!

RodeoChat: where can all of your fans keep up with you down the rodeo trail through social media?

Josi Young:  http://proroughstock.com  and I will keep tuned into twitter (www.Twitter.com/JosiYoung82) as well 😉

Annndddd that’s a wrap for RodeoChat this week folks! We wanna thank all of our amazing fans for tuning in and to all the fans that sent in questions! Thanks again y’all for your support we appreciate it! One more thing, We hit 6K on Twitter tonight! Long story short.. Rodeo Chat Fans Rock! We hope you all have a wonderful week, and will be back next week with a brand new RodeoChat RECAP for all of you Rodeo fans 🙂

– Paige Gregory

www.Twitter.com/RodeoChat

Leave a Reply

